Author Topic: Could the Equality Act 2010 be of Benefit to Amyloidosis Patients?  (Read 12050 times)

Mark McConway

• Patient - AL Amyloidosis - Diagnosed 2011
  • Reason for joining: AL Amyloidosis Patient (Diagnosed at 47)
  • Diagnosed: March 2011
Hi Everyone,

Having read a number of posts now about how some people have been adversely treated in relation to pursuing benefits etc, I thought it might be worth mentioning that, over recent years, the definition of what constitutes 'a disability' for the purpose of protection against discrimination under the Equality Act of 2010 is now much wider.  I am not a lawyer but it does strike me that the definition may encompass someone dealing with a diagnosis of Amyloidosis. 

Quoting from the government's own guidance (https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/85010/disability-definition.pdf)

Main elements of the definition of disability
A1. The Act defines a disabled person as a person with a disability. A person has a disability for the purposes of the Act if he or she has a physical or mental impairment and the impairment has a substantiaand long-term adverse effect on his or her ability to carry out normalday-to-day activities (S6(1)).
A2. This means that, in general:
• the person must have an impairment that is either physical ormental (see paragraphs A3 to A8);
• the impairment must have adverse effects which are substantial(see Section B);
• the substantial adverse effects must be long-term (see Section C);and
• the long-term substantial adverse effects must be effects on normal day-to-day activities (see Section D).

It goes on to say that...
"A disability can arise from a wide range of impairments which can be:
• sensory impairments, such as those affecting sight or hearing;
• impairments with fluctuating or recurring effects such as rheumatoid arthritis, myalgic encephalitis (ME), chronic fatigue
syndrome (CFS), fibromyalgia, depression and epilepsy;