Author Topic: Fluid Intake Restriction - A Flashbulb Moment for Me@  (Read 1714 times)

Mark McConway

• Patient - AL Amyloidosis - Diagnosed 2011
  • Reason for joining: AL Amyloidosis Patient (Diagnosed at 47)
  • Diagnosed: March 2011
Fluid Intake Restriction - A Flashbulb Moment for Me@
« on: August 11, 2021, 04:19:50 pm »

I'm not a doctor but these steps may be useful to someone who's just started their Amyloidosis treatment on chemotherapy.

10 years ago, in 2011, I was originally diagnosed with the AL type, was successfully treated, and had 10 years very good, almost symptom-free remission, before relapsing earlier this year. I'm now half way through Cycle 2 of Daratumamub (who names these things?) Dexamethasone and Bortezemib.

One of the biggest issues for me, practically speaking ,was the buildup of fluid in my feet ankles and legs. What 've discovered this time is
the critical importance of PACING YOUR FLUID INTAKE within whatever maximum limit you have been set.  If you do this with great discipline, it could help you enormously, along with the correct doses of diuretics.  Let me explain as no-one, until very recently, has even mentioned anything other than keeping within your daily limit.

So, so first thing to remember is that all fluid counts.  Your milk in cereal, your coffees, the soups and baked beans-  and even the liquid meds - all have fluid.  Measure what goes in, and measure what comes out as accurately as you can. It's a hassle to do, especially at night, but there are serious dividends to be gained if you stick with it.  Trust me, I know what I'm talking about here.  I've lived it.